Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How can I tell when a primary flight feather is done growing? Spooky is just a wee bird, only 4-5 months old and clipped when we got him, so I have no experience recognizing blood feathers. But a few weeks ago he randomly molted a few clipped feathered and they've grown back enough to allow flight. It's a safety issue in my house but the only place I trust to clip him is the bird store we got him from, 40 minutes away...

The one wing seems fully grown back, but he only molted one feather on the other wing and I can't tell if it's done coming in yet. I don't want to put him through two long car rides... any advice for a bird newbie? Thanks!

·
Registered
78 Posts
My birds wings are clipped also for saftey reasons, and our pet store is also 40 minutes away! I just got one of my tiels wings clipped a month ago, but she now has about five feathers that have grown in since then. I will probably wait another month or so, because she still can't fly that well. On the other hand, my boy Twillight hasn't had his wings clipped in three months and they still haven't molted at all. I have attempted to clip them myself in the past, but it was too hard. My birds are not used to having their wings touched. I would say wait as long as you can until it really becomes an issue, but you never know when they might loose a few.

As far as the car ride, however, my birds love it! I have nice fold down cages for travel, so they can see all around. The first couple of times they were a little nervous, but now when they see the travel cages come out they get all excited. I even joined the bird club 40 minutes away, and I take them with me there once a month. They also go to friends houses, parks, and I even took them camping!:)

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #3