Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Hello, i just bought my baby cockatiel, Pasha, on friday and I heard there are different types of them like, pearl, cinnamon, and pied. I'm new to cockatiels, therefor I don't know much about the types of them. I forgot to ask the breeder I bought him from I paid 105 for my little man. :D
Please see him here and tell me what kind he is, thank you. <3
http://i893.photobucket.com/albums/ac139/ashessx333/37940_412672987934_680962934_456065.jpg
and here's another picture,
http://i893.photobucket.com/albums/ac139/ashessx333/liitttleeone.jpg

And also, to clip or not to clip?
Any opinions are appreciated.
<3

·
Registered
1,088 Posts
I think I even know this one.... its a pearl pied!
BUT .... wait till someone who actually knows! Im just guessing from the MINIMAL knowledge I have in mutations.

Cip or Not. That's your personal choice. A decision only you can make taking into account room size, safety, birds abilities, if you want them to be totally dependant on you, help with training etc.

·
Registered
735 Posts
Hey, welcome to the fourm and to the world of birds!

"types" are generally called "Mutations" and as you know described the birds genetic makeup of colour and patterns.

Your little man is a pearl pied :) And what a sweetie he is.

As for wing clipping, its a personal choice, but here are some pros and cons that i, personally, have found with cockatiels:

Pros to clipping:
-Makes the bird dependant on you to get around, thus making bonds stronger because the bird relies on you to get to and from somewere.
- Stops constant flying and possible injury
- Keeps the bird in your reach incase of an emergency
-It is easier to build a bond with a bird that isnt always flying away :D