Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm a new cockatiel mommy to Beaker. I've had him for about a week and he is a hand-fed baby. I know I got him only a day or two after they decided he was weaned. Lately he has been making this really strange noise when he is being held. I'm pretty sure it's not that he wants to be left alone because when ever we put him down he comes running back to us. My questions is what does this noise mean, and how should I respond to it. It isn't a very pretty/happy noise so I'd prefer not to reinforce it and make it a habit.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=682XJ8obzB0

Thanks everybody - This is my first post :yellow pied:

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for your response! How should I respond to this behavior? Is it something you think he will grow out of when he gets older?

Beaker is just that awesome of a name :) I'm a science teacher so it is part of a theme. We also have a Petri (parakeet) and are someday planning on getting a Bunsen

·
Premium Member
6,217 Posts
Thank you for your response! How should I respond to this behavior? Is it something you think he will grow out of when he gets older?

Beaker is just that awesome of a name :) I'm a science teacher so it is part of a theme. We also have a Petri (parakeet) and are someday planning on getting a Bunsen
That's what I named him after too. Small world full of science/bird lovers :lol:

He will grow out of it. When I was socializing young budgies, one would make that noise; he was begging. When he was sold, he started begging again, but it went away. Did you just recently bring him into your home? Sometimes a new, young bird can revert. It's normal if they do, they grow out of it. And I forgot to welcome you by the way :)

·
Registered
151 Posts
That's what I named him after too. Small world full of science/bird lovers :lol: