Talk Cockatiels Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to start by saying this all depends on what my new bird proves to be, male, or female. I have a white face male potential split for pied, and the possible female (currently 6 weeks) is a lutino pearl pied, and quite the attention craver, what are the possible offspring mutations, later, if all goes as we hope. I'm not new to breeding, but I'm new to bird breeding if that road is traveled, right now the only intentions is a companion bird for my boy. If we were talking snake genetics I wouldn't be as blind.

·
Registered
10,912 Posts
If your male is split to pied, you can get pied chicks. Anything else depends on whether the parents are split to any other mutations. If the hen is split to whiteface, you can get whiteface chicks. These are both autosomal (ordinary) recessive mutations.

Lutino and pearl are sex-linked recessive mutations, so the inheritance rules are different. I don't know if snakes have sex-linked mutations, but if they do then it probably works the same way as birds. If you need more information on how it works in birds, I have an article here: http://www.littlefeatheredbuddies.com/info/breed-sexlinked.html

The short version of the story is that the male must be at least split to the mutation to get any babies who are visual for the mutation. If dad has the gene, he can have visual daughters no matter what color the mother is. But to get visual sons, it's also required for the mother to be visual for the mutation. Your hen is lutino pearl, so if the male is split to lutino and/or pearl you'll be able to get visual babies of both sexes.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If your male is split to pied, you can get pied chicks. Anything else depends on whether the parents are split to any other mutations. If the hen is split to whiteface, you can get whiteface chicks. These are both autosomal (ordinary) recessive mutations.