Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is Mischief, he/she hatched on 4-14-16 so is 11 days today. BUT, when I compare him to a growth chart, you'd swear he was barely 5 days old. He can barely lift his head up, and the parents are starting to lose interest in him.

Could you please check out this video and tell me what you think????

https://youtu.be/JDpU5gN4hcg

I have no experience and don't know what to do. I had no intention of having babies, so wasn't prepared for this little guy.

·
Registered
1,305 Posts
This is my 6 day old baby and he is a bit stunted at this stage, he was an assisted hatch and his parents refused to feed him so I fed him from hatch. http://youtu.be/xK20-SuVlLc He is holding his head up well here but he had a hard time as well, this little one looks like he needs more groceries, if mom and dad are not feeding him you may need to pull him and handfeed.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Mischief is 11 days old, so he is WAY BEHIND. Mom and dad have been caring for him, but I just finished hand feeding him myself. I tried to buy a commercial formula, but was unable to find any within an hour of my location, so I used this formula. He really seemed to like it.

http://www.cockatielcottage.net/formula.html

Despite how behind and stunted he is, he is very active and curious. I think he has a strong will to live.

·
Registered
1,305 Posts
If he gets good nutrition from here on out he should catch up, maybe a bit smaller than he would of been but as long as there is no underlying problem then you should be ok... make sure your formula is at the right temps and if in a brooder make sure it also is the right temp for him. This is my baby now at 5 weeks old.

Attachments

·
Registered
885 Posts