Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
4 days ago i started training my cockatiel target training. It works great but there is a problem.
When rewarding him some spray millet and eats a couple times he becomes like a statue and moves his head slowly and looks arround my room.
He does that for 30 seconds or 1 minute and then he starts responding again.
Even waving my finger or the stick to him doesn't wake him up.

Is the millet the cause of this or something else?

·
Registered
2,299 Posts
Wow...what a weird response to spray millet! Either he really REALLY likes it, or he's having some reaction to it.

Hopefully someone with more experience will be able to help you. I'm not sure what to make of the situation.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Is it possible that he is tracking something with his eyes, like a bit of dust floating around, or a small bug (like a fruit fly)? Sammy does this from time to time, watching 'bird dust' float around after he gives a big shake.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Wow...what a weird response to spray millet! Either he really REALLY likes it, or he's having some reaction to it.

Hopefully someone with more experience will be able to help you. I'm not sure what to make of the situation.
I found out that my new lamp in the ceiling is the cause of this. He doesn't anything this days but just looking at it like its an angel. Pretty funny but doesn't this hurts his eyes?

·
Registered
878 Posts
There's a condition called 'stargazing' that can have a number of causes including nutritional problems, infection and other factors not all of which are understood. You would need to rule out problems through a vet who would need to be familiar with the condition. Search the internet using 'avian stargazing' for more info on the subject and ask your vet if they're familiar with it.