Talk Cockatiels Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! :D

Well, soon, my dream of bringing home a baby tiel is very possible to come true! :D I've finally been able to slightly convince my father of letting me buy myself a weaned baby.

I work at First Flight Exotic Birds and my boss has agreed to let me take home one of the hand-fed hand-reared (same? lol) just-weaned tiels if I buy a specific cage (20% off) with supplies (40% off)

These baby tiels are suprisingly very friendly and doesn't really run or try to escape! :p

So, anyways... the questions :eek: (I've looked them up here and on tiel sites, but I figure asking tiel owners would be even more beneficial!)

1. What is the minimum size for a tiel's cage? Also, because I'm no pro at cage measurements, can you please explain which measurement means which? :eek: (example: 45 width, 45 length, 45 deep or something like that ;))

2. I'll be buying tiel seed and pellets at the store, along with the cuttlebones, mineral bones, etc. My question is, are there specific vegetables that tiels should eat? I notice lentils here and there.

3. Are there any hints to look for in the tiel to determine sex? Or are they too young to be sexed? The tiels at the store are probably 7-8 weeks. I'm leaning more towards a male... but either is perfectly fine!

4. I know that budgies can get attached to their cage. Is this also likely for tiels? Should I let the tiel get use to me before the cage? (That's what I usually do with my budgies and it works great, thanks to Bea for giving me the idea :))

Well, those are the basic questions that I'm still being a little paranoid about. I've been wanting a tiel for ages and I'm just so excited and want to do everything right. :)

I don't think I'll have a problem with training. I've been working with these tiels for a little while and all of them know how to step up and shoulder perch, all that jazz. :)

I'd appreciate your answers!

·