Talk Cockatiels Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
long story short, I have 2 untamed tiels. I love them but They dont want to play with me. The first one I got 1 year ago from an aviary. Now I know that aviaries are wrong but back then I was a total newbee and amateur. I named him Marcy. Marcy is hella loud, hella afraid. Since I got him he learned to grab a stick when I say "Grab" and eat sunflower seeds from the pinch of my fingers. He also sometimes walks to me and plays around if Im sleeping or siting still but If I move even so slightly he screams and flies away. The second tiel I have for 6 months now. They like each other. I got her from another City and I spent some money and time to get it. I named her/him Kleo ( I dont know their genders). She was 3 times more expensive then Marcy. She's different. Wont play around me, keeps distance, but If I come to her she is not as scared. She's supposedly tamed but again she flies away, wont let me touch her and hisses bird curses at me if I bother her. If It's late I can force her to step on my finger for barely 4 seconds so I can put her back to cage.

Now to the point. I love them and I feel responsible for them. I'm not going to sell or rehome my tiels because I want whats best for them. Problem is I know that I will have more animals in the future. They will be around for 18 years at least. So the questions:

- Is it posible to train them?
- Can I keep them in a separate room away form other animals, house members and household appliances?
- Will their be fine with each other or do I need to find them more friends?
- What is the minimum room size to keep them inside?