Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
I don't want to mislead you in any case as I'm a newbie but I've been doing loads of reading as I'm quite a maniac reader. I've come across on mostly 2 cases when raw seeds etc appear on droppings:

1) the serious trouble: a stomach infection ( yeast infection I think it's called sorry english isn't my native language so it's hard to remember everything correctly )

2) the not-so-serious-trouble especially brought up with Millet seeds is that as they are so tiny they some times just suck it in by being hungry or whatever without properly digesting it, but that's something you should keep an eye out as well as it could cause choking and extra problems

To be totally honest I remember after reading the choking part I took the darn millet away and I wouldn't even care less if my birdy liked it or not.

Again no intention to mislead or freak you out, just throwing out my findings from reading here and there.

Better keep the post updated or in any case if you see anything strange on your fellow better take him to a Vet to be 150% safe.

Best regards.

·
Registered
4,781 Posts
Panicking should be the last resort. Try to stay calm. If you are ever concern of your birds health, a vet should always be the way to go. They can do tests to see if it's anything serious.

·
Registered
8,086 Posts
Don't panic.

If the next few poops aren't normal, try some probiotics. If those don't clear it up in a couple of days, or if you notice more symptoms, then it's time for a vet check.

Don't start googling undigested seed in poop, either. Everything you find will be equal parts unhelpful and unnecessarily panic-inducing.

·
Registered
7,907 Posts
Honey's first signal to me that she had a yeast infection was undigested seeds in her poop. It went on for a while though, if it's a one-off thing I wouldn't worry. Just give some probiotics and if it continues, a vet check-up. :)

·
Registered
49 Posts