Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, everyone! I recently adopted Simon :grey tiel:, a young cockatiel hatched on Thanksgiving 2015, from a local parrot rescue organization. He's very sweet. :) I am new to birds. Simon came to me with his wings clipped and it was initially working the way it was supposed to: he could get a little bit of lift and could fly/glide to the ground quite well. He started getting clumsier when he started losing some of his tail feathers.

Two weeks ago, he jumped off of my hand onto a table, landed on what I will refer to as A Bunch of Stuff, and injured his left foot. I took him to an avian vet who said it was a soft tissue injury, she expected it to heal fairly quickly, and to keep him from jumping down. It has not healed yet and that is partially because of the difficulty of keeping him quiet. His cage is 38" high and with his injured foot he sometimes looses his balance and I hear a loud "thunk!" as he hits the bottom. He also has gotten away from me a few times and has clearly hurt his foot when he has landed. I am determined to help him heal!

I just got him a cage that is 30"Lx18"Wx18"H. This should stop the "thump!" in his cage, at least. How low to ground can I have the cage without him being very unhappy? I want to minimize the chances of him getting hurt when I take him out of his cage and I'm just not yet adept at keeping him on my hand.

Any suggestions for keeping him happy for a couple of weeks??? He's used to an open top cage and hanging out with his budgie friends, one of whom also has an open top cage and the other comes over to join them. They spend a lot of time cage hopping, checking out each others toys and (identical) food. He is not going to be happy with a change to this routine.