Talk Cockatiels Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I'm looking into adopting a cockatiel in the next few months. I've had parakeets and finches in the past so this isn't my first bird... Though it is my first larger bird and I have a few questions for those who have experience with owning them.

1) About how loud are these birds? I have read that males are louder than females and compared to other types of birds, tiels are rather quiet. I also know it varies per individual bird, so... How loud are your tiels?

2) How often do you get your bird out? I am a student and my roommate works fulltime so there will be times when the tiel will be alone for a few hours. Outside of school and work, we are always home and can spend a lot of time with it.

3) Do these birds do best in pairs? Or is just one okay?

4) This is the main reason why I've been hesitant to adopt any bird, but I do own two cats and I don't know how these birds would react to being near cats. Do any of you have experience with owning both a cat and a tiel? My cats can be trained to stay away from animals, as I have had many prey-type animals (primarily rodents) in the past and they knew to leave them alone.

Any additional tips or advice is greatly appreciated.

Thank you :)

·
Registered
1,486 Posts
questions