Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
195 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I guess the topic title says it all :)

My name is Lore, I am currently 23 years old (turning 24 at the beginning of February) and studying to become a veterinary nurse/assistant. I probably live far away from most of you, as I am from the Netherlands and do live all the way over there.
I've always had a love and passion for animals, and although I have had many different kinds of pets and 'petsat' a whole bunch of other kinds too, I am still fairly new to keeping birds. My parents simply never cared much for them (not that they fear or really dislike birds, my dad actually adores my cockatiel!) and me or my sisters probably just never knew enough about birds to ask to have one as a pet.

As mentioned, I have a young cockatiel, Puck, whom is 4 months old at the time of writing this introductory post. Sadly, he was clipped as per request by the people who were supposed to purchase him from the breeder, but then the breeder just never heard from them again and Puck ended up not having a home. I had no plans for getting myself a cockatiel (yet) as I had just had to say goodbye to my two parrotlets (they sadly made too much noise and it caused problems for my neighbours). But I immediately fell deep and hard for this little guy, and he is the sweetest bird!
He always steps up, loves to cuddle and has never once bitten me in the 2 months we've been living together and getting used to one another (even if he seems to be somewhat traumatized by having been clipped and gets 'angry' if you do touch his wings)

This story is a bit messy, I tend to write like this because my mind is usually all over the place and would like to apologize for that in advance. Sometimes my stories get too long, because I want to tell too many things at once. If I ever seem to not (completely) make sense, do ask me, I'll be happy to clarify what I meant ;)