Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey can anyone help me? I just bought 2 cockatiels and this is my first time rearing a bird...so i don't really have any experience. Anyway, they are doing pretty fine, they look healthy but whenever i go near them, they start shaking and when i open the cage gate, they start going crazy. Any suggestions to try to bond with them? By the way, can you tell how old the cockatiel is without its band ring?

·
Registered
11,093 Posts
1) You can't tell their age without a banding ring (not unless the people where you got them can tell you)

2) I'll copy and paste this from another thread that I replied to that was similar.

You have firstly got to get your 'tiels trust, it's pretty easy and if you do it right then you'll have absoloutely no problems taming them. Each day for about 10-15 mins sit by the cage and talk to them (softly), don't put your hand in the cage and grab them out at anytime, doing that will only make them lose trust in you. Then sooner or later your 'tiels are going to be curious of your voice and you sitting near the cage, if you see them doing this, that is great! then you can feed them some treats eg: millet through the cage bars or even just some seeds, and they will be likely to accept it. If they start taking treats through the cage keep doing that for awhile/each day, and gradually you can try and put your hand in the cage SLOWLY and see if they'll eat treats out of your hand, they may flip out, if they do take your hand straight out of the cage and try again either later or the next day.. or maybe you could leave it for a couple of days if you want - we want them to gain your trust more than anything.