Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I'm very new to bringing up cockatiels. I have bought 2 of them 3 months ago, a male and a female (the male is the white and the female is the grey).

I am taking good care of them as much as i can and things are going well so far EXCEPT:-

1- They don't love each other although they eat and sleep together but they always fight.

2- the female is so aggressive towards the male although she seeks his attention so much by whistling and popping her head (i have heard it's rare for females to whistle but i'm gonna talk about that in details).

3-the female unfortunately has become crazy about whistling it mimics the whistle of the male exactly and it keeps doing it from sunrise to sunset which is really annoying. I don't know why she is doing that since females -in general- rarely whistle.

4- what confuses me the most is that i saw both of them -with my bare eyes- whistling and popping their heads trying to get each other attention but one of them always ignores the other, if the female tries the male will ignore her and go away and if the male tries the female would bite him.

5- Can they ever breed since they are not paired? today i saw the female looking at the nest from inside then the male stood in front of it and prevented her from approaching.

6- how can i help them be paired and what tools i can use to let them enter the nest and what do they need to prepare the nest?

I need your help and i hope you explain to me what's going on.

NOTE : Sorry for my bad English since I'm writing you from Egypt, English is not my first language :)

Thanks in advance :)

·
Registered
255 Posts
How old are they?

1. Birds are just like people. Sometimes they like each other, sometimes they don't.

2, 3. I don't know why everyone says it's rare for females to whistle, because my females always whistled. Sorry, but why'd you get a bird if you don't like bird noises? XD