Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm new to cockatiels. I have two. One my boyfriend brought me home last night. This morning I uncovered his cage and everything was knocked over and there was blood splattered everywhere. I took a look at him and all his flight feathers were ripped out. i don't know if there are any bones broken. He's not hand tame and is very aggressive and I'm trying not to upset him any more then needed. I'm am awaiting a ride to the vet now. I want to know if this was due from a night fright and if so what I can do to prevent them in the future.

·
Registered
1,486 Posts
night fright

Oh no! I hope your bird is okay. Yes, I'd say it could have been a night fright. I really don't know what causes them. It could be most anything: a shadow moving across the cage, maybe a strange sound, or even a bad dream(?). I've had only one experience with that with Bennie and I have no idea what caused it. I do know I get mice occasionally in my apartment; maybe he heard one of them in the night? I really don't know what to say about preventing them. Some people suggest a night light for your bird.
Hope your vet trip went well.
By the way, welcome to the forum! There are many very knowledgeable people on this forum and I enjoy being a member; I have learned so much!

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
We just dropped him off at the vet. They said they'll give us a call tomorrow.

We're going to pick up a night light. I'm also going to try and figure out if I can move his cage elsewhere in the house. I don't think we have mice (the cats never turn up with any) but maybe one of our kitties gave him a startle. Neither really bother the birds, but my younger one likes to sleep next to one of the cages. She will move the cover to sleep inside it next to the cage. If she did that with the new bird, it'd probably give him a scare.