Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thankfully not a total newb to birds, but its been about ten years since my conure passed away (not really sure how, the vet didn't have answers and it was incredibly sudden).

The story of how we got three cockatiels when we meant to get a cat goes like this - my boyfriend and I were looking for a cat to add to our dogs (my schnauzer and his Pomeranian) and went to our local, well-sourced and incredibly awesome pet store (that I now work at as a dog groomer and a shop person!!!!). The cats there are all from rescues (as are all their dogs, they have tons of adoption events). So we were looking at the cats, talking to the employees, really considering the adoption process.

Then we walked around and were looking at everything else because we like to spoil our dogs and there were two cockatiels in the little bird area. They were both super sweet and adorable and they stole my boyfriends heart. He kept coming back to them and refused to leave without talking to the store owner about them. So we did. And we got to hold the lutino, who was super sweet. But we couldn't take him home that day so we put him on hold. He had to get some blood feathers checked out by the vet before the owner would be confident in sending him home with us.

Thus began ONE ENTIRE WEEK of me going into the pet shop every day after work, talking to this cockatiel for a half hour or so, and eagerly amassing toys, food, cage, etc. By the end of the week, he recognized me and would come running to the front of the cage to see me. This bird was meant to be. After the vet came to pull his broken blood feathers, he came home with us.