Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello everyone!

I am new to tiels and to this forum :wf cinnamon:

I bought my baby bird at a reputable aviary a month ago. I fell in love with the idea of having a companion bird when I got a new job which requires me to look after Amazons, lovebirds and bourkes. After a lot of research I decided a cockatiel would be amazing! My partner kindly bought her for me after weeks of me going on about having a bird!

Anyway, her name is Baby and she's a 3 month old whitefaced cinnamon(?). I'm pretty sure she's a hen because she only chirps and doesn't sing?

After a few weeks of soft talking and sitting next to her cage, I have finally gotten to the stage in our relationship where she will perch on my hand and eat her seeds, which is so special! I will work on getting her to "step up" soon.

My main question is: has anyone got any tips on how to get your tiel to eat fruit and veg? I don't want her to be stuck on only seed for her whole life. I know it's quite full of fats. she eats cuttlebone and has an iodine block, but I want her to be as healthy as possible and get her vitamins.

Failing that, can anyone recommend a dried fruit and nut mix for tiels? I can only find some for bigger parrots.

Any hints or tips on new cockatiels would be greatly appreciated! I look forward to hearing from you guys.

Attached is a photo of Baby! I adore her.

With love from the UK!

Attachments

·
Registered
334 Posts
Hello and welcome, from me and Maxi, also from UK!

Congratulations on your new birdy! Cockatiels are the best (biased, me? eheh). Sounds like you're making good progress with Baby! Great foundation for a long lasting friendship :D