Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello from New Zealand!

My name is Hana, pleased to meet you all! I am new to caring for a caged bird, but previously have had experience with just about every other animal you can think of! I have been researching caged birds for a while now and decided that a cockatiel best suited me :) I then talked to a couple of friends who have cockatiels and asked for their recommendations.

I have always been very fond of birds but I have only ever raised ducks. Just under a week ago, I picked up young Nikko from a pet store. She had been there about a week and prior to that, hand-raised by her breeder. Just turning 2 months old today, I have yet to determine her official sex but her breeder assumed she was female. From what I can tell, she is a Grey split to Pied.

Nikko is a very friendly and social bird. She took an instant liking to me and is happiest when perched on my hand or shoulder. She hates baths but loves to shower with me. Nikko is an excellent sleeper and does not make a peep until I uncover her cage in the morning. Her favourite toys are popsicle sticks!

However, I do have a few queries regarding her behaviour. She is quite the keen nibbler, something I've heard is common in juveniles. But it's something I would like to discourage as people are not too fond of her nibbling their skin and clothes and she has more than once spotted a power cord that has piqued her interest! For her own safety, and the comfort of others, how do I best discourage this? I also don't want this habit to turn into biting in her adolescence.