Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to cockatiels, I raised parakeets growing up. My 1st came from a big out door cage full of 50 other cockatiels. He never relaxed no matter how much I tired. He ended up passing away. =( I think he was over stressed being inside in a cage. I just recently got 2 more. They do not seem to be in the best of health. I asked a lot of questions but did not get any straight answers. I took them both home anyways because I want to give them a better life. One has little to no feathers only on his head. Any advice how how to get them to grow back would really be great. He is so sweet so I don't he was miss treated. He is busy and does not seem sick. He has such a wonderful heart I want to see him looking his best. The other one is a little more timid but sweet all the same. He will get on your finger with a little effort. He most hangs out on top of his cage. He has a scab of some sort under his wing and some loss of feathers. I have been doing a lot of research so I welcome all advice. I love every second with these birds!

The featherless bird from what I was told only ate people food, whatever the lady ate. Any foods that might help him get his feather back!

·
Premium Member
19,909 Posts
Not sure about foods that will help get his feathers back but if he's not being plucked they should grow back pretty soon normally. Some people food is ok for them, but there are some things they shouldn't eat such as chocolate or caffeine or avocados. Hopefully he feathers out soon. The one with scab, he could've picked it. Have you taken them to see a vet?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Not yet, I have not found one close by that sees birds. I did find a parrot rescue close I thought I might stop in there and see what advice they might have. Could it be he is old?? Do they typically lose feathers and not grow back as they get older.

·
Premium Member
19,909 Posts