Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey there! Posted in introductions earlier..
Just got a new Cockatiel and it's my first time owning one, I've had budgies in the past but this is different for me. He's quite larger and has a totally different personality and temperament.. A lot less hyper which I like a lot, actually.
Anyways, his name is Conan and he's a split pied pearl or cinnamon I believe.. He was hatched on April 27th, and is roughly 3 months old.
I just wanted to make sure all is good with him, and I do plan to take him in to the vet for a check up health thingy too, but in the meantime just wanted to ask on here.
Are young cockatiels sort of bad with their hygiene? He hasn't learned to bath in a dish or anything yet, but he will come in the shower with me and gets cleaned off that way.. Anyways I've noticed a lot of poo sticking to his tail feathers, especially in the mornings and he's slow to clean it off. His poops are totally normal, although they get a bit runny through the night judging by the big pile underneath him when I uncover him. Anyways they seem fine, and the right hardness and not too watery or whatever. Just seems like he's messy and doesn't know how to clean himself too well yet.. Anyways I just wondered if it's any cause for alarm or if I should try to get him in the shower more. I mean he seems totally healthy otherwise, he is extremely friendly and eats a big variety of food including pellets and seeds, with dark greens, eggs, and cooked rice etc.. Lots of energy, plays and likes to get into trouble, all around well adjusting little guy.