Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,225 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like to make a bird collar for my boy, but am not sure how wide the neck hole should be. It should be wide enough for him to feel comfortable, but of course he shouldn't be able to pull it out (he did with a hair band within a few seconds...) What would you recommend?
Thanks!

·
Registered
648 Posts
Aren't they usually Velcro? Like the hole is pretty small and it's wrapped around the neck and velcroed together? So like, the hole is too small for the head to get through at all, because it never goes over the head? I mean, I'm just going off of the ones I've seen. I've never used one before. Their necks are pretty skinny, it wouldn't need to be a very large hole as long as there's room for movement and swallowing and stuff.

·
Registered
1,225 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Thank you, tasheanne. I have never used or even seen one (in real life), but using velcro makes sense and I even have some at home...
I am surprised soft collars are not available anywhere in Australia, but at the end of the day they shouldn't be too difficult to make.
I think bibs also use velcro? I have no kids or younger siblings and never had one in my hands, but I think they do.

·
Registered
255 Posts
Like a dog collar?
I saw a cute cat collar bell at the store and I was just thinking it'd look really cute on Miley bird... :love:

·
Registered
1,225 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Like a dog collar?
I saw a cute cat collar bell at the store and I was just thinking it'd look really cute on Miley bird... :love:
Actually I need one because he plucks his feathers. He is just a mild plucker and likes to constantly entertain himself. It would be a soft collar, not a leather or plastic one.

·
Registered
648 Posts
Thank you, tasheanne. I have never used or even seen one (in real life), but using velcro makes sense and I even have some at home...