Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! So I've been watching three cockatiels (now about 2.5 years old) for a year. They belonged to an elderly neighbor of my aunt's, who died and left the birds with my aunt. Soon after my aunt's house was damaged by a fire, and she has been living elsewhere and unable to keep birds since. I took them originally planning to try to find them a home with a family member or friend. I am moving to a smaller apartment in a few weeks, and I'm a grad student and don't have enough money/time to take adequate care of these birds for the rest of their lives.

The three birds are siblings. Two are semi-mated: they preen each other sometimes. But sometimes he ignores her, and he doesn't seem completely bonded to her--he does heart wings and bobs his head for me (and used to get very jealous around my ex boyfriend!). The other male is friendly with his brother and he and the sister ignore each other completely, unless they want to same food at the same time--if that happens, they squabble until one of them moves. The female and non-mated male are not hand tame at all, although the male steps up onto a stick inside and outside the cage. The third male, who mates with his sister, is quite tame, but the other two birds get very vocal and upset if I try to take him away from the cage to spend time with him. When they get upset, he gets upset too and flies back (their wings were trimmed when I got them but I've let them grow out because they enjoy flying around the apartment and I don't want them to be bored; also because they fell off their perches a few times when their wings were clipped and it seemed to really upset them).