Talk Cockatiels Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
537 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I am new to this... just what does a molt look like?

Tiki is 14 months old. I have noticed a few small feathers here and there in the cage. Not a lot tho, today I see he has some rather bare spots under his wings and sort of behind the wings. He seems to be preening a lot also. I don't know how often they molt? Or if it is time now.

Any ideas for me??

·
Registered
2,791 Posts
Well, basically a moult looks like a burst pillow. LOL!! They start off with small feathers and gradually shed what seems to be every feather on their body. The feathers under the wings aren't quite as thick as feathers elsewhere, but if you think he is preening a lot and not really moulting, it could be an idea to check for mites.................now, don't ask me how you do that because I haven't a clue, it's just something that has come to mind. Somebody else will be able to help you more with this I'm sure. I don't even know why mites sprung to mind..........I haven't had a sip of coffee yet this morning, so I don't think my brain is in top gear yet.

·
Registered
2,591 Posts
A moult is where new feathers come through with a covering over them, they are pin feathers. Then the old feathers start to fall out, and the new feathers are there already, so they kind of get a new body of feathers. You will also notice feathers in the cage! :D

·
Registered
537 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the replys... I don't think it is mites. I think it is a mild molt or may get worse. From what I have been reading that is what it seems to be. He is hanging out in his cage again today... not sick, playing with his Tiki Hut... seems to be his bestest friend... :) I am so thinking of getting another.... :)

·
Registered
537 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·