Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know that incubation is roughly between 18-21 days but I've got 1 egg in my brand new brinsea advance bator that's doing really well. Should I go into lockdown on the 18th day or wait until near the time when the egg shows first signs of internal\external pipping?

Tomorrow will be the 12th day since the egg was laid. I am also having a hard time finding out about the humidity. I have it roughly at 35 - 50% with temps at 37.5*c. I am forever reading up and can't find anything solid for humidity. I am a novice at breeding tiels, a big leap from budgies, diamond doves and finches XD

Anyone who uses this type of bator that can give me me ANY tips on successful hatches, I would love to hear from you guys or anyone that can give me advice would be appreciated.

Xx

·
Registered
770 Posts
My house is pretty much always at a 49%-52% humidity with an average of 50%. I've tried to look up for the ideal humidity level and it seems to be around 50%. I'm not completely sure but I've had all my birds eggs have hatched thus far.
Usually, if the humidity is too low, the parents will increase the humidity by wetting their bottoms and going in the nestbox like that. If they don't and the humidity is too low, you can lightly mist the sidewalls of the nestbox with water.

However, I've always put a very small bowl of water in my birds nestbox, as far away from where they are incubating as I can. Just in case :)

I've only had experience with 2 clutches of 5 eggs, so my knowledge is pretty limited. Most of my advice is from what I've heard and what I've read :D

·
Registered
770 Posts
Also, to somewhat answer your first question, hatch dates can range from 18-21 days, depending on the environmental conditions. Mine hatch at 17 days.