Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys and gals. Need some advice.

We've had Pip since August (he's about 5 months) and I've done a lot of work with him. A lot. But I've never had a bird before so I'm still learning. But I'm getting close to being a little frustrated with him and don't want to get to that point.

Biggest issue is this: Pip does not "step up" in the way that I understand that he should. He can be lured onto my finger while chewing on a piece of millet, but he does it only as a last result. (He will stretch himself to every possible inch, even falling off balance before he steps onto my finger.) If I draw my finger towards him with no millet spray, he chirps and pecks and sometimes even bites down hard. It's getting disheartening. He clearly does not like fingers, and I've been very patient and gentle with him. He takes treats and millets and seed from my fingers no problem, but if an empty finger comes his way, he'll have none of it. He gets a lot of out-of-cage time, either on top of his cage or on my shoulder while I go about my business.

This poses a lot of problems, other than just biting. It is nearly impossible to get him off my shoulder (takes me contorting myself by reaching half my body into his cage ...) He chirps and bites at my finger or hides on the back of my neck if I try to use the finger. He loves the shoulder, in fact he's sitting here happily now grinding his beak... but it is going to take an act of pure will to get him off.

This also means that he is a hands-off bird. No scritches, no petting, no handling to examine him for health reasons. It's hard to feel a connection with him. God forbid something should happen to him, because I'm not sure how I'd give him first aid other than traumatizing him with a towel or breaking trust and grabbing him.

My wife and kids would love to get to know him, but right now, he'll have none of it.