Talk Cockatiels Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
670 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i let jo jo out to fly well she doesn't fly when i let her ut she clings to me lol, so i now have a system where i put jojo on top of the cage then call her and she fly towards me or in my direction anyway seem to zig zag,

now im no expert in field fly but it look clumsy and often i have to put my hand in her way so she land on it, like she doesn't always make the target? is this normal or just her playing? r could it be site problems, or should i stop worrying ?

·
Registered
7,294 Posts
:lol: My theory is that tiels are dorks and they don't use their brain as often as they should. My tiels often display what you're describing, i wouldn't worry about it. I expect she'll get more talented as she gets older, mine were way worse as babies.

·
Registered
670 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i am actually received thank you for answering so quickly, i was already to ring the vet

so its her age and she will get better , i just found she would come t climb all over me ocasionaly flap to my shoulder, but wasn't flying then i put her back in and she would flap like mad and want to fly, so i thought ok i will get you to fly so once i realized she flew to me i did this, i don't do it often she she seems a bit puffed which must be due to her age right? she also sneezes on me which is not nice lol i tend to say bless you lol

ok so just help the baby a bit more with practise

·
Registered
7,294 Posts
The flapping without flying is a way for them to exercise their wings. :D She's probably getting puffed from flying because she's out of practice. She'll get more fit the more she practices.

·
Registered
670 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
ok :D i do have to rember she is still a baby, and just like babies need to learn to walk they need to leanr to fly, maybe if i go a bit closer to her might help a bit

·
Registered
2,791 Posts