Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My Jessica is about a year and a half and this weekend has laid 2 eggs. She lives with Noo a male and they are bonded but I do not want to breed them and certainly do not want baby tiels. It would devastate them to seperate them. I just am not sure as to what to do to stop this. I have taken anything away that looks remotely like a nest and have taken up the floor coverings as Noo made nests out of those everyday. They get plenty of sleep time too.

Have you guys any ideas to discourage this without having to seperate them.

By the way Ive discarded the eggs.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Oh thank you so much. I didn't replace the eggs no maybe I should have done. What with? Sorry I have no experience at all with breeding birds.

Actually they will be having a change of scene at the weekend. My house has been flooded and they are upstairs but are moving back down this weekend so that may help Im hoping.

·
Registered
5,022 Posts
If she lays anymore just take the eggs and shake them it will stop anything from developing and then let her sit on them till she loses interest, the other option is to get fake eggs and replace them with her eggs I have no idea where you would get fake eggs I have never seen them any where around here.
A change of scenery will be good for them it might be enough to discourage her from laying anymore eggs :)

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you :)

The only thing was that the eggs were cracked already so I suppose I could have left them I will next time. I may have a look about for fake ones in the meantime.

Thanks for you advice.

·
Registered
5,022 Posts
Yeah if the eggs are cracked or broken I would remove them and try and replace them with fake ones
I wanted to add as well make sure she is getting enough veggies, cuttlebone, and mineral block while she is laying eggs to keep her healthy.

·