Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a question about a current clutch that a breeder has, just to see if I can get any answers for her (she is not a member on here) She has a clutch from a white faced male and a pied female. These are the babies mutations at 6 weeks: cinnamon pearl, grey,cinnamon,and grey pearl (I'm assuming by "grey" she means normal)

would any of these be female? and is the dad a pearl (or split to?) and split to cinnamon? I have been trying to learn about different mutations but I am completely lost on this one lol no pictures, sorry

thanks in advance for your help!

·
Registered
648 Posts
Ok first off id just like to say I'm not an expert! But here's what I DO know.
Hens can't be split to cinnamon or pearl, they can only be visual. That means, since the chicks got it somewhere and the male isn't visual either, the male must be split to cinnamon and pearl.
Any cinnamon or pearl babies will be female since these are sex linked mutations.

See if this Link works:http://http://members.optusnet.com.au/~geoffwatts1/Cinnamon&Pearl.html

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thank you! I was trying to look at those "genetics calculators" but honestly couldn't figure out how to even put in these two parents mutations :eek:

·
Registered
1,559 Posts
The male father is cinnamon on one W chromosome and pearl on the other (split cinnamon and split pearl).

All chicks will be split whiteface and split pied.

The cinnamon pearl chicks should be the result of a process called crossover where dna for two sex-linked mutations on adjacent W chromosomes mix onto the same chromosome during sperm formation within the male bird.

We could do better with pictures, but that's what it looks like.

·
Registered
78 Posts