Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. I got my cockatiel 'Pretty Bird' Almost 4 weeks ago. I'm no expert on birds of any kind but this isn't my first cockatiel. He seems healthy and active. Is very cheerful and loves when i'm messing with him or his cage. His feathers are in good condition as water rolls off like its supposed to. He started out at a good weight but has slowly lost weight over the last couple weeks. I can feel his keelbone quite well and i'm getting very worried about his weight.

Right now I don't have a way to weigh him unless i take him to the vet. Should I break down and take him anyway? Or should I offer baby tiel food? I didn't want to go back to hand feeding him since he has already been weaned. (update for those who may have read my previous posts, he no longer begs me for food. I always put him back on his cage and walked away when he begged. I would wiggle my finger in his food and he will eat a little when i do that. I havn't heard him beg for days now.)

So far he has been offered deluxe cockatiel seed, millit spray, dehydrated fruit treats.

Today I went and bought some food pellet mix and it has bits of apple and peas in it, i also bought him a different kind of fruit treats. (they are smaller and softer than the other i had bought)

He has tried all of it but just doesn't seem very interested. Is there something I can do to encourage him to eat? I've read that eating at the same time helps them feel more comfortable. So far I can make him eat a little by stirring his seeds and stuff with my finger and telling him 'thats a pretty bird' and stuff like that when he eats.

·
Registered
9,158 Posts
So far he has been offered deluxe cockatiel seed, dehydrated fruit treats.
Today I went and bought some food pellet mix and it has bits of apple and peas in it, i also bought him a different kind of fruit treats.