Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
7,907 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Honey just did a poop and I snapped a photo because nothing about it is normal:

I watched her until she did a second one and this is what it looks like:

She's generally a happy girl and has a great appetite, but she does tend to take more naps than the other three. Everyone else's poops look normal. She's also just started a molt. I have no idea what her weight is. I just checked on her again and she's got her head tucked under her wing ready for another nap. :(

I'm gonna get her to the vet ASAP. Please send Honey your best wishes.

·
Registered
786 Posts
Wow that first one really does look off. I agree a vet's visit is in order. Sending lots of good thoughts for her and hope that all turns out well. :flowers:

·
Premium Member
6,217 Posts
I'm no professor in poopology, and I hope it isn't this, but could it possibly be psittacosis? I sincerely hope not, and regardless, wish the best for poor Honey

·
Registered
8,086 Posts
Nothing about this suggests psittacosis to me.

The first poop has two undigested seeds in it, which is the most concerning thing. The second pic looks more or less normal, although somewhat more watery than usual. Occasional undigested seeds can be normal, especially in a bird that's stressed, but chronic undigested seeds are almost always a sign of illness.

Usually undigested seed in the fecal portion of poop indicates that there's inflammation in the digestive tract. This can be caused by an imbalance of bacteria, infection, or a variety of other things. At minimum, you want a gram stain from the vet. If her poop keeps having undigested seeds, I'd consider bloodwork and possibly xray too.

·
Registered
7,907 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Psittacosis... that word freaked me out :frown: