Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
please help me.... my cockarteil often looks like it is yawning. I am wondereing if perhaps that is not what it is doing. could it be poor air quality?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am new to this. did you just answer my question? My cockateil looks like it yawns!
Is it really poor air quality in the house with the heat on?

·
Registered
6,100 Posts
No cockatiels "yawn" to adjust the contents if their crops, it's nothing to be worried about. My tiels do it as well:)

·
Registered
9,158 Posts
Is it really poor air quality in the house with the heat on?
---------------------------------------

During the winter, with the heat on the humidity is very low and can dry out sinus. You might consider running a humidifier in his room to see if this helps.

Also as other posted, cockatiels will stretch their neck and yawn because it feels good (like it would to you if you did it) and it helps settle the crop especially after they ate. The crop is the holding pouch for food, that is gradually digested, rather than immediately digested.

I am new to this. did you just answer my question?
----------------------------------
No, I posted a link that is helpful to new people on the forum

·
Registered
6,100 Posts
If you want you can do a google search for images of bird anatomy. The crop is a pouch connected to the esophagus where food is stored and broken down a bit before being sent for further digestion.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
wow! your all exteamly knowledgable about tiels!!!!!!!!!
I just love this little bird and want to provide the best I can for him. I have a lot of questions as this is my first bird. Its nice to know that I have a place to go to when something comes up with him.
He is ok during the day but cries his heart out if I am not home when it gets dark!!!