Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

This is my first time posting and first time on a forum in quite a while. I have a concern about my 11 week old male cockatiel whom has just finished weaning. My concern is that I work 10 hours a day 4 days a week (8am-6pm) and during that time he is home alone. Now here are the steps I have taken to ensure he is OK during that time:

- Plenty of toys, food and fresh water
- Netflix is playing on my computer about 6 feet away from his cage, as I noticed he loves to watches cartoons or TV shows in general. I usually play Power Puff Girls
-I love him to bits and as soon as I come home I scoop him up (I of course make sure he is not screaming or trying to get out, as not to encourage that behavior, but he doesn't often) and hang out with him the entire rest of the night (about 4 hours). He sits on my shoulder, naps, preens himself, bonks his head against mine when he wants to be pet etc.

My concerns:

-he is very young and I don't want the 10 hours a day apart to potentially damage him
-He makes baby cockatiel sounds (low pitched whines) a lot recently accompanied by some head bobbing
-I have had cockatiels in the past, from babies to a 15 yr old whom I let live out his days (happily) with me but I am still paranoid that the long times away may harm him.
-last night instead of wanting to be on my shoulder he wanted to sit on top of my 2nd computer monitor and sleep, he didn't want to be picked up or go to sleep. Am I harming him by putting him in his cage at bedtime and him reacting by screaming and running around all crazy, but covering him up anyway as it was bed time?

Sorry for all the ranting, let me know if you need me to clarify anything.

Thank you all,

-Ludmiska

·
Premium Member
19,909 Posts