Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new here, so please excuse me if this is some kind of silly question!

I am just getting started in breeding cockatiels. My Pepper is a lacey pearl mutation and I have no idea what her parents are. Her coloring is bright, she is a solid girl with a funny personality, and has the desire to mate.

I'm looking for a male for her to bond with and hopefully have chicks. What kind of color mutations would be a good choice for healthy offspring that aren't all going to look the same? My fiance and I have had our eye on a white face, but I don't have any knowledge on how color mutations affect breeding and the health of offspring.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
1,559 Posts
I'm new here, so please excuse me if this is some kind of silly question!

I am just getting started in breeding cockatiels. My Pepper is a lacey pearl mutation and I have no idea what her parents are. Her coloring is bright, she is a solid girl with a funny personality, and has the desire to mate.

I'm looking for a male for her to bond with and hopefully have chicks. What kind of color mutations would be a good choice for healthy offspring that aren't all going to look the same? My fiance and I have had our eye on a white face, but I don't have any knowledge on how color mutations affect breeding and the health of offspring.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!
When we are talking about common sex linked mutations like lutino, pearl, and cinnamon; mutations the hen carries has little effect on the offspring. Male offspring have a chance to be visual with these mutations when the hen has it, but the biggest factor is the mutations the father is visual for and or carries but is not visual for.

Whiteface is different both parents must be carriers we would need pictures to tell if she is split whiteface.