Talk Cockatiels Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I’m very new to the bird world. I read as much as we could and I got a lovely 3 month old cinnamon pearl from a breeder after asking for her most placid bird. Our new bird Celli went through the typical first couple of days of shock at new surroundings then fit right in, Before long I could temp her with millet spray onto a perch and eventually onto our hands. After 2.5 weeks she is the friendliest, happiest girl, she loves to fly to me and crawl all over us and get her head rubbed.
Anyway 10 days after getting her we decided to get her clutch mate sister as she was still available. The sister was even easier than the first to handle at the Breeder and travelled home well. Unfortunately at home there was a mishap where she flew out of the cage while I changed water and crashed and fell into a box. Along with the usual adjustment it’s taken at least at week for her to feel ok with me right next to the cage. I can now clean out the cage and put food in without her getting too reactive. Experienced people have told me if I don’t handle her soon it will never happen willingly.
Sorry for this long post but she is a lovely bird and I’m worried she won’t have the same quality of life if I can’t let her fly freely and move her easily in and out of the cage.
I talk to her a lot and spend a lot of time sitting with her so I am lower, the first bird is in a cage next to her and they will chirp a bit but the first bird is more bonded to us.
Should I move the first bird into a separate room to allow the 2nd bird to bond more with me?
I just don’t want to stuff this up anymore than it is. I’ve made some progress but I’m afraid she’ll just be very independent

·
Registered
7,907 Posts
Hello there and welcome to the forum!

Celli sounds like such a lovely girl! You've made fantastic progress with her.