Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 2 untamed cockatiels I adopted a little over a month ago. They were hand-fed, but not much attention was paid to them after that. It's been a slow process and I can tell some progress, but I was wondering how adding a 3rd, younger, very tame cockatiel to the mix would affect things?

The 2 boys I have (Pickle and Mayo) are almost a year old, and the cockatiel in consideration, also a male, is 3 months old and apparently very tame and already talks, etc. I also have a male budgie I'm guessing 2 months old.

I don't want to go overboard on birds, but I think that adding a tame bird to the mix of untamed birds could help progress? I wouldn't cage them together right away or at all if they don't ever seem to get along.

I'm also a student (graduating in the winter) so while I'm at school at work, adding another might help with keeping them entertained while im gone??

Does anyone have an opinion/previous similar experience?

Advice would be very much appreciated!

·
Registered
377 Posts
In my experience adding a tame bird has zero effect on other birds. I mix tame and intake cockatiels all the time and no real effect either way.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
61 Posts