Talk Cockatiels Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I currently have a cuttlebone in my Nibbles' cage, but I've never seen him touch it. To be honest, he really doesn't touch much of anything I put in his cage to play with, or his play gym. So, I think I need to start supplementing with a powdered supplement, most likely in his water. My question is, do I have to buy a supplement made specifically for birds, or might the calcium and D3 supplement I have for my lizards be acceptable? I'm not exactly an expert on bird nutrition or the differences in processing and manufacturing these powders, so I thought I'd bring my concerns to the TC.

The product is Fluker's calcium with vitamin d3, phosphorus free. The ingredients are calcium carbonate and vitamin d3 supplement, and it says calcium not less than 36%, and vitamin d3 minimum 100,000 IU/pound.

·
Registered
3,743 Posts
i'm not an expert on the topic but...
if your bird eats a healthy diet of mainly seeds, with veggies, and some pellets, then it shouldn't need supplements unless recommended by a vet.
people used to believe that cuttlebones and grit were essential for their birds, though vets recognise now that grit is unnecessary, and cuttlebones are a personal-choice thing.

if i were you, i'd definitely talk to an avian vet about supplements and concerns you have about your bird's diet. too many vitamins is not a good thing. so run it past a professional i'd say.

·
Registered
11,093 Posts
Don’t give your Cockatiel the supplement that you give your lizard, I am pretty sure they would be different to bird supplements. Here is a thread you can read through: http://www.talkcockatiels.com/showthread.php?t=27549&highlight=vitamin+supplements

If your Cockatiel eats soft foods (veggies, sprouts, etc), you can sprinkle some of the cuttle bone onto the soft foods, otherwise, Nutri-Berries or Pellets are another option.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #4