Talk Cockatiels Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I have a 2 month old cockatiel(likely male) and I'm a newbie, so i'm having some trouble knowing how to properly feed him. He was hand raised by me so he quickly started eating pellets, but seems seriously picky. I tried to make chop with grains, carrots, and green veggies with a small amount of pellets but seems to pick out only the pellets, and once he finishes them, begs for more despite having a plate full of other foods. It also seems that he prefers moistened pellets despite trying to accustom him to eat dry ones for weeks!

p.s. he eats fruit quite well, isn't too crazy about seeds, and I feed him Zupreem pellets(non-colored ones)

·
Registered
I have normal greys, whiteface, pearl pieds, creamface cinnamons, and pearls.
673 Posts
Well....you may have the makings of a picky tiel! Lord knows I have a few of those! I"d say your off to a very good start if he's already eating fruit! Tiels are most likely prone to veggies over fruit. Have you tried him on broccoli yet? At just two months old, I'd say you have a ways to go before he really develops a taste for what he likes and doesn't like. What KIND of pellets do you feed him? The Zupreem is a good choice but Rowdybush pellets are what we feed our flock.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well....you may have the makings of a picky tiel! Lord knows I have a few of those! I"d say your off to a very good start if he's already eating fruit! Tiels are most likely prone to veggies over fruit. Have you tried him on broccoli yet? At just two months old, I'd say you have a ways to go before he really develops a taste for what he likes and doesn't like. What KIND of pellets do you feed him? The Zupreem is a good choice but Rowdybush pellets are what we feed our flock.